News 16 JUL 2020

Dardenne brothers to receive Lumière Award

Belgian filmmakers Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne will receive the Lumière Award during the 12th edition of the Lumière festival, which will take place in Lyon from October 10th to 18th 2020.

Created by Thierry Frémaux, the Lumière Award has honoured since 2009 a film personality for his or her entire body of work and pivotal role in the history of cinema. Presented during a gala ceremony in the presence of a myriad of artists, professionals, journalists and festivalgoers, its international scope, prestigious list of recipients and resulting media impact have given the Lumière Award an endeavour to become a "Nobel Prize" in cinema.
This 12th Lumière Award will be presented during the Lumière festival, to be held in Lyon from October 10th to 18th 2020. Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne will succeed Francis Ford Coppola, Jane Fonda, Wong Kar-wai, Catherine Deneuve, Martin Scorsese, Pedro Almodóvar, Quentin Tarantino, Ken Loach, Gérard Depardieu, Milos Forman and Clint Eastwood, all of whom received this award in the birthplace of the Lumière Cinematograph.