News 11 JUN 2013

First Awards ceremony of the Francophone Cinema

The very first Awards Ceremony of the Francophone Cinema will take place in Dakar on 26th June 2013.

This event has as its main objective to highlight the richness and creativity of the Francophone cinema by celebrating its artists and its behind-the-scene creators. Wallonia-Brussels will be very well represented in this first ceremony by :
- Emilie Dequenne who is nominated for the best actress in a leading role Francophone Award for her performance in Joachim Lafosse’s Our children.
- Natacha Régnier who is nominated for best actress in a supporting role Francophone Award for her performance in Lucas Belvaux’s 38 witnesses.
- Joachim Lafosse who is nominated for the Francophone Award for directing Our Children.
- Jérôme Colin et Jérôme Le Maire who are nominated for the Best Picture Francophone Award for the film Tea or Electricity ; and
- Nicolas Guiot’s The Lobster’s cry which is nominated for the best short film Francophone Award.

The Francophone Cinema Award project is supported by an association composed of Nicole Gillet, General Delegate of the International Francophone Film Festival of Namur (IFFF), Alain Rocca, Delegate Administrator of the Cesar’s Academy, Samuel Faure, Director of official sponsorship of the Cannes Film Festival, Henry Welsh, former Producer of La Soirée des Jutra (Quebec), Luc Picard, former President of La Nuit des Jutra (Quebec), Costa-Gavras on behalf of the Cesar’s Academy, Frédéric Delcor representing the André Delvaux Academy and Dan Cukier representing Namur’s IFFF.

In order to support this project, 72 films from 27 different countries have been submitted to the members of the Francophone Cinema Academy. At the first round of voting, 46 nominations have been divided in 18 feature films ans 5 short films coming from all the Francophone regions. They will be screened at the Daniel Sorano Theatre in Dakar, from 17th to 26th June.

The International Francophone organisation is an official partner of the Francophone Cinema Awards as well as the Belgian, French, Quebecker and Senegalese governments.